Monday, January 24, 2011

National Hispanic group elects new leadership

National Hispanic Leadership Agenda Elects New Exec Committee
PRESS RELEASE (January 23, 2011)

WASHINGTON D.C. - The National Hispanic Leadership Agenda (NHLA) has just elected their new Executive Committee members:

Lillian Lopez-Rodriguez was re-elected to a second term as Chair. She is the President of the Hispanic Federation.

Brent Wilkes was elected Vice Chair. He is the Executive Director of the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC).

Diana Sen was elected Secretary. She is the President of the Hispanic National Bar Association (HNBA) and Senior Counsel with LatinoJustice PRLDEF.

Al Zapanta was elected Treasurer. He is President and CEO of the US-Mexico Chamber of Commerce.

The following were elected as Members-at-Large:

Juan Andrade, Jr., President, United States Hispanic Leadership Institute (USHLI)
Thomas Saenz, President and General Counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)
Hector Sanchez, Executive Director, Labor Council for Latin American Advancement (LCLAA)

The National Hispanic Leadership Agenda (NHLA) was established in 1991 as a nonpartisan association of major Hispanic national organizations and distinguished Hispanic leaders from all over the nation. NHLA's mission calls for unity among Latinos around the country to provide the Hispanic community with greater visibility and a clearer, stronger influence in our country's affairs. NHLA brings together Hispanic leaders to establish policy priorities that address, and raise public awareness of, the major issues affecting the Latino community and the nation as a whole.

NHLA is composed of 30 of the leading national and regional Hispanic civil rights and public policy organizations and other elected officials, and prominent Hispanic Americans. NHLA coalition members represent the diversity of the Latino community - Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cubans, and other Hispanic Americans.

No comments:

Post a Comment