Tuesday, August 9, 2011

8th Annual Border Security Conference scheduled for El Paso

U.S., Mexican officials to participate and share ICE and INL information.
EL PASO, TX -- The University of Texas at El Paso President Diana Natalicio and U.S. Rep. Silvestre Reyes (D-Texas) announced the 2011 participants for the 8th annual Border Security Conference: Fostering a New Era of U.S.–Mexico Collaboration to Meet 21st Century Challenges, to be held on Aug. 15-16 at UTEP.

U.S. Trade Representative Ron Kirk and U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Alan Bersin will headline this year's conference. The special luncheon keynote speaker will be announced at a later date.

Other participants include: Marilyn Ann Quagliotti, deputy director of supply reduction for the Office of National Drug Control Policy; William R. Brownfield, assistant secretary of the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL) for the U.S. Department of State; Thomas S. Winkowski, assistant commissioner for U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP); Janice Ayala, assistant director of domestic operations and homeland security investigations for Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE); Thomas R. Delaney, mission director for the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) Mexico; and Michael J. Fisher, chief of border patrol for CBP.

“The University of Texas at El Paso is pleased to partner with Congressman Silvestre Reyes in hosting the 2011 Border Security Conference,” Natalicio said. “With its border location, student demographics, academic programs, research infrastructure and ties to many Mexican institutions, UTEP offers a splendid setting for sharing perspectives and promoting cross-border conversations on border security issues.”

This year’s conference will feature four expert panels titled “Building Resilient Communities,” “Strengthening the Economic Integration between the U.S. and Mexico,” “Effective Security: Security Cooperation Initiative between the U.S. and Mexico,” and “Enhancing Security through Technology and Innovation.”

UTEP faculty will offer their expertise in various panel discussions. They are Ernesto CastaƱeda-Tinoco, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology; Nathan Ashby, Ph.D., assistant professor of economics; Charles Boehmer, Ph.D., associate professor of political science; and Richard Posthuma, Ph.D., professor of business management.

“With the complex security, immigration, trade and health challenges confronting the border region, the annual Border Security Conference is a valuable opportunity to engage the community and foster dialogue on these issues with leading experts and key stakeholders,” Reyes said. “As one of America's largest border communities that is most impacted by our nation's bi-national security and economic policies, El Paso should be at the forefront in shaping the national discussion of our border.”

The two-day Border Security Conference is free and open to the public. Those who wish to attend are encouraged to register online at

No comments:

Post a Comment